If you’re a new employee in Connecticut, you need to know your rights under the state’s labor laws. To do this, you can fill out a new hire report, known as the Form CT-W4, and submit it to the Connecticut DOL. This report explains what the law requires of both non-exempt and exempt employees. An employee can qualify for exempt status by meeting two tests: duties and salary.
Exceptions to age discrimination in employment applications
Generally, the law prohibits employers from making certain inquiries regarding an applicant’s age. If an applicant is between the ages of 18 and 65, the employer cannot ask for proof of age or to obtain arrest records. Although age-related inquiries are prohibited, employers may ask about a person’s physical condition, past medical history, or disability, as long as it’s for a legitimate business reason. In this way, they can determine if an applicant’s condition would prevent him or her from performing his or her job safely or effectively.
Federal law prohibits discrimination against employees and job applicants based on their age. There are several exceptions to age discrimination in employment applications, including if an applicant is pregnant, lactating, or has a disability. Small businesses may also be exempt from the law. The law requires employers to consider several other factors in making hiring decisions before allowing discrimination based on age.
Exceptions to sex-based compensation decisions
The Connecticut Equal Pay Act requires that employers pay their employees in line with their qualifications. Unlike the federal Equal Pay Act, which applies only to employers with more than fifteen employees, Connecticut’s pay equity law applies to all employers, regardless of size or industry. Lower-wage earners may not be able to file federal equal pay claims because they are uneconomical to pursue. Fortunately, the Connecticut law offers a more viable remedy for these employees.
Several factors can be used to justify unequal pay. For instance, an employee can demonstrate that they are receiving less pay because they are a woman. However, the employer must prove that the difference is the result of a bona fide reason, which is not based solely on gender. Examples of such factors are education, training, geographic location, and experience. A company’s action must be justified and consistent with the business necessity of the employees.
The Connecticut minimum wage will hit $15 per hour by next year, thanks to a new law. While inflation has taken hold of many Americans, Connecticut is one of the few states that will see a minimum wage increase. In other words, the minimum wage in Connecticut will rise to match the federal level. The question then becomes: how will the new law affect your paycheck? Let’s take a look. What exactly does it mean to be paid $15?
The new law requires the legislature and governor to consider the impact of a freeze on minimum wages. While some small business owners may decide to increase pay for their hourly workers, the increase will not necessarily benefit everyone. Some economists call this a “ripple effect” that means an increase in the minimum wage will eventually affect people in higher-income categories. And it will also benefit people of color and working mothers. That additional money will flow back into the economy and the state, generating more tax revenue. And it will give more workers the dignity they deserve in the workplace.
Paid sick leave
Although the state of Connecticut does not require employers to offer paid sick leave to their employees, many do. Employers may even promise to offer paid leave, which creates a legal obligation. To avoid this situation, employers should carefully review their policies and handbooks for any statements about paid sick time. If you do make any changes to the terms, be sure to notify your employees. Paid sick time is a basic labor law benefit for Connecticut workers.
Under the new law, covered employers must give notice to their employees about their sick leave entitlements. Additionally, they must inform them that they are prohibited from discriminating against employees who request sick leave. Furthermore, employers cannot retaliate against service workers for exercising their right to use paid sick leave. If you are unsure about whether your workplace will offer paid sick leave, contact the Connecticut Department of Labor for help. Your complaint will be handled quickly and effectively.
Connecticut labor laws include overtime pay. In general, the state requires an employer to pay its employees at least one and a half times their regular rate of pay during overtime. That rate includes all payments made by the employer and certain statutory exclusions. To illustrate the requirement, here are some examples. The following example assumes a worker works a 40-hour workweek. To calculate the amount of overtime pay, divide the regular rate of pay by the number of hours worked.
Some types of workers are exempt from overtime requirements. Some of these are outside salespeople and certain computer-related jobs. Additionally, some employees are not considered legal employees unless they have advanced knowledge, originality, or creativity. However, other types of workers are also exempt from overtime requirements. These include outside salespersons, independent contractors, computer systems analysts, farm workers, seasonal or recreational workers, and casual babysitters.
Private lactation room
Connecticut General Statutes section 31-40w guarantees an employee the right to breastfeed or express breast milk at work. This law applies to employers of any size and industry and requires them to provide an employee-only room where the employee can breastfeed or express milk. The room must be separated from the working environment, and provide access to an electrical outlet and a refrigerator. In addition, employers must make reasonable efforts to provide lactation accommodations. To comply with these laws, employers should review their lactation policies.
New York State has similar requirements for breastfeeding rooms. Employers with more than four workers must provide lactation rooms, which must meet certain requirements. These requirements include a refrigerator near the work area, and a room that is private and is not a bathroom stall. Some employers may choose to provide an alternative lactation room, such as a cubicle. In addition, cubicles must be at least seven feet high. Employers should consult with the Division of Labor Standards to ensure that they provide employees with the space they need to nurse.