If you suffer an injury on the job or are diagnosed with an occupational illness, you can receive workers’ compensation benefits. It does not matter if you were hurt because you were careless in your actions. The system is no-fault, allowing you to get benefits that cover your medical costs, offset some of your income loss, and give you disability benefits until you can go back to work.
The benefits typically include weekly payments that are based on your pre-accident wage. These are subject to caps set by the state of Georgia. You may also receive payments for authorized medical treatments, prescription medications, and reimbursement for your travel to medical appointments. If you can’t return to your old job, you can receive vocational retraining.
These benefits could last a lifetime for catastrophic injuries, but barring that, they will be capped at 400 weeks. Your benefits will begin once you are unable to work for seven days. Since your employer’s insurance company provides coverage to you in these situations, you should know how to file to claim your benefits.
Go to this website to learn more about how a workers compensation lawyer may be able to help you with this process.
How to File for Your Workers’ Compensation Benefits Coverage in Georgia
Follow these steps to minimize the chance of delays or denials of your coverage:
Report the Injury
After you have been hurt at work, you must tell your employer immediately. You have up to 30 days to report the injury, but it is best to do so as soon as you can.
Get Medical Treatment
Your employer is required to provide you with a list of approved physicians to see for medical treatment. If your injuries are serious or life-threatening, you will be covered if you go to the nearest hospital.
Compile All Evidence
It’s best to stay organized by putting all the documents and receipts that are related to your injuries, medical expenses, and earnings in one place. This information will be needed to validate your claim.
Fill Out the Forms
Next, you’ll fill out the required forms, check to make sure they’re correct, and submit them as soon as possible. These will go to the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation, your employer, and your employer’s insurer. Once the forms are submitted, you must then await the benefits decision from the insurance company.
What Happens After You Receive a Benefits Decision?
What happens next will depend on the decision you receive. If your claim is approved, you will soon start receiving your workers’ comp benefits. You must make sure you maintain eligibility for these benefits by following all doctors’ orders.
If your claim is denied or the amount of benefits is incorrect, you can appeal this decision. It is a formal process that will take place before an administrative law judge. While you are not required to hire an attorney, you may want to seek legal representation before you file an appeal.
Go to this website to learn more about how a lawyer may be able to help you with this process.